|
Tryouts & Practice
Tryouts
Tryouts have concluded for Fall 2014. The next tryout will be scheduled for January 2015. Check back here for details.
 
If you'd like to inquire about the possibility of having a player seen prior to January, email Director of Coaching Dean Selvey at dselvey@sonesoccer.com.
 
Training Calendar
SC Gjøa Youth Soccer holds training sessions in a number of locations around South Brooklyn including the Parade Grounds, Red Hook Fields, Dyker Beach Park, Leif Ericson Park and more. Travel teams train twice a week outdoors in fall and spring, and indoors once a week in winter. Academy training (professional coaching without league games) is held once a week throughout the soccer year.
 
 
Here are important dates for 2014/2015
 
Thursday and Friday, September 25 and 26: Rosh Hashanah - Travel training, Academy and Skills/GK Clinics ON for those that can attend.
Monday, October 13: Columbus Day - No practices.
Friday, October 31: Halloween - No practices.
Monday, November 3: Practices move indoors. (Tentative, team managers will confirm).
Tuesday, November 4: Election Day - No practices (unless manager and coach confirm an outdoor practice for your team).
Tuesday, November 11: Veteran’s Day - No practices (unless manager and coach confirm an outdoor practice for your team).
Thursday and Friday, November 27 and 28: Thanksgiving - no practices. 
Monday, December 22 through Friday, January 2: Holiday Break - no practices. Resume Monday, January 5.
Monday, January 19: MLK Day, no practices.
Monday, February 16 through Friday, February 20: Midwinter Recess - no practices.
Resume Monday, February 23.
Monday, March 9: Practices tentatively return outdoors, weather permitting, details tbd.
Friday, April 3 through Friday, April 10: Spring Recess - no practices. Resume Monday, April 13.
Monday, May 25: Memorial Day - No practices (though tournaments a possibility).
Wednesday and Thursday, June 10 and 11: last training dates for Spring 2015. (Tentative, club, coaches and team managers will confirm).
Sunday, June 14: Awards BBQ at the clubhouse. (Tentative. Date and details tba.)
 

This schedule is subject to change. Please check back here and on our home page for changes and cancellations.