|
Tryouts & Practice
Tryouts
We hope to schedule one more tryout in September 2014. Please check back here in mid-August for details.
 
Training Calendar
SC Gjøa Youth Soccer holds training sessions in a number of locations around South Brooklyn including the Parade Grounds, Red Hook Fields, Dyker Beach Park, Leif Ericson Park and more. Travel teams train twice a week outdoors in fall and spring, and indoors once a week in winter. Academy training (professional coaching without league games) is held once a week throughout the soccer year.
 
Here are important dates for 2013/2014:
 
Monday, October 14: Columbus Day - No practices.
Thursday, October 31: Halloween - No practices.
Monday, November 4: Practices move indoors. (Tentative, team managers will confirm).
Tuesday, November 5: Election Day - No practices (unless manager and coach confirm an outdoor practice for your team).
Monday, November 11: Veteran’s Day - No practices (unless manager and coach confirm an outdoor practice for your team).
Thursday and Friday, November 28 and 29: Thanksgiving - no practices.  
Monday, December 23 through Friday, January 3: Holiday Break - no practices. Resume Monday, January 6.
Monday, January 20: MLK Day, no practices.
Monday, February 17 through Friday, February 21: Midwinter Recess - no practices.
Monday, March 10 (updated): Practices tentatively return outdoors, weather permitting, details tbd.
Monday, April 14 through Tuesday, April 22: Spring Recess - no practices. Resume Wednesday, April 23.
Monday, May 26: Memorial Day - No practices (though tournaments a possibility).
Wednesday and Thursday, June 11 and 12: last training dates for Spring 2014.
Sunday, June 22: Awards BBQ at the clubhouse. Details tba.
 
This schedule is subject to change. Please check back here and on our home page for changes and cancellations.